Weather forecast and meteo conditions

Weather on the map

Directory and geographical data

Benin (/bɨˈnɪn/; French: Bénin, formerly Dahomey), officially the Republic of Benin (French: République du Bénin), is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Togo to the west, by Nigeria to the east and by Burkina Faso and Niger to the north. A majority of the population live on its small southern coastline on the Bight of Benin, part of the Gulf of Guinea in the northernmost tropical portion of the Atlantic Ocean. The capital of Benin is Porto-Novo, but the seat of government is in Cotonou, the country's largest city and economic capital. Benin covers an area of approximately 115,000 square kilometers (42,000 sq mi), with a population of approximately 9.98 million. Benin is a tropical, sub-Saharan nation, highly dependent on agriculture, with substantial employment and income arising from subsistence farming.

The official language of Benin is French. However, indigenous languages such as Fon and Yoruba are commonly spoken. The largest religious group in Benin is Roman Catholicism, followed closely by Islam, Vodun and Protestantism. Benin is a member of the United Nations, the African Union, the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, South Atlantic Peace and Cooperation Zone, La Francophonie, the Community of Sahel-Saharan States, the African Petroleum Producers Association and the Niger Basin Authority.

From the 17th to the 19th century, the main political entities in the area were the Kingdom of Dahomey along with the city-state of Porto-Novo and a large area with many different tribes to the north. This region was referred to as the Slave Coast from as early as the 17th century due to the large number of slaves shipped to the New World during the Trans-Atlantic slave trade. After slavery was abolished, France took over the country and renamed it French Dahomey. In 1960, Dahomey gained full independence from France, and had a tumultuous period with many different democratic governments, many military coups and military governments.

A Marxist-Leninist state called the People's Republic of Benin existed between 1972 and 1990. In 1991, it was replaced by the current multi-party Republic of Benin.


Country: Benin
Telephone country code: +229
Coordinates: Latitude: 9°30'0" N; Longitude: 2°15'0" E;
Aliases (In other languages): Bahasa Indonesia: Benin Deutsch: Benin English: Benin Française: Bénin Italiano: Benin Nederlands: Benin Norsk bokmål: Benin Polski: Benin Português: Benin Română: Benin Slovenčina: Benin Suomi: Benin Svenska: Benin Türkçe: Benin Ελληνικά: Μπενίν Беларуская: Бенін Български: Бенин Еspañol: Benin Русский: Бенин Українська: Бенін العربية: بنين فارسی: بنین हिन्दी: बानिन 中國: 贝宁 日本語: ベニン 한국어: 베냉
More names:
Be-nanh, Be-nanh (Benin), Beinin, Bene, Benee, Beneen, Benen, Benim, Benina, Beninaen, Beninas, Benini, Benin nutome, Benino, Beninum, Beninän, Benëen, Benín, Benɛ, Benɛn, Bhenini, Biniin, Binin, Bènin, Bê-nanh, Bê-nanh (Benin), Bênîn, Bɛnin, Dahome, Mpenin, Orileede Bene, Orílẹ́ède Bẹ̀nẹ̀, Penini, People's Republic of Benin, People’s Republic of Benin, Republica de Benin, Republic of Benin, Republic of Dahomey, Republique Populaire du Benin, Republique du Benin, Republique du Dahomey, República de Benín, République Populaire du Bénin, République du Bénin, République du Dahomey, bei ning, benaeng, benan, beneng, benin, beni n, benina, benin gong he guo, benini, bnyn, bynn, i-Benin, penin, pra thes beni n, Μπένιν, Բենին, בנין, بینن, بېنىن, बेनिन, বেনিন, બેનિન, ବେନିନ୍, பெனின், బెనిన్, ಬೆನಿನ್, ബെനിന്‍, බෙනින්, ประเทศเบนิน, เบนิน, ເບນິນ, བཱེ་ནིན།, ბენინი, ቤኒን, បេណាំង, ベナン, ベニン共和国, 베넹


Afghanistan Åland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bonaire, Sint Eustatius a... Bosnia And Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Indian Ocean Terr... Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Rep... Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote D'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvina... Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territori... Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See (Vatican City St... Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iraq Ireland Islamic Republic Of Iran Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People'... Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People's Democratic R... Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yug... Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia, Federated Sta... Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Palestine, State of Panama Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension a... Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part... Saint Pierre and Miquelon... Saint Vincent and the Gre... Samoa San Marino Sao Tome And Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Serbia And Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part)... Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the Sou... South Korea South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Minor Outly... Uruguay USA Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Rep... Vietnam Virgin Islands Virgin Islands, U.S. Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe
The project was created and is maintained by FDSTAR company, 2009-2018

Weather Forecast in Benin Country

© - it is the weather forecast in your city, region and your country. All rights reserved, 2009-2018
Options of weather displaying
Display temperature  
Show the pressure  
Display wind speed